Arduino Pro Micro without Bootloader

Hello,

I want to use 32K flash memory on arduino pro micro so I decide uploading sketch through Arduino as ISP (use pro mini as a programmer).

Before uploading, I change the maximum memory in "board.txt" to 32K (instead of 28K).

Everything works fine. I can send data over USB (PC detects the USB, I don't know whether the bootloader still exists in the board). Now I can upload sketch that consume more than 28K. BUT it works fine until the sketch reaches approximately 30500 bytes. (~30K).

The question is

1. Bootloader still exists?
  2. If bootloader was remove, can PC detect USB as a COM port?
  3. If what I did is wrong, how to remove bootloader and I can use 32K flash memory with the USB connection to PC.
  4. Do I need to config other things in board.txt for example low_fuse, high_fuse? I am a novice and don't know what they are.

THANKS.

When you upload a sketch via ISP the bootloader is erased. If the bootloader is erased, you can still use the USB as COM port, just not for uploading a sketch. So once you upload a sketch via ISP, you need to continue to upload revised sketches or other sketches via ISP. Until you burn the bootloader again, and then from that point you can use the bootloader and upload in the common manner.

Here's the deal with fuses:
Go into the IDE preferences and check show verbose output during upload. Then connect the ISP and Burn Bootloader. The avrdude commands (2 separate commands) that are used to set the fuses, erase the chip, upload the bootloader, etc. will be shown to you. Copy them to a notepad.