Using Roman Black's Btc Sound encoder with arduion; CODE

Hi

I am not a programmer but I do have a little experience with code. I have more experience with soldering and circuits.

My goal is to sew a lilypad into a stuffed animal and have it tell a story that I recorded. The story would start once a push button in its paw is depressed.

I am very interested in getting started with making a lilypad arduino play audio; more audio than 10-20 seconds. I came across Roman Blacks Btc Sound encoder, BTc Sound Encoder v3.0 - free sound software and I am wondering how I would use this to program full audio in a 1-bit format to achieve playback from the arduino that would be a couple of minutes long.

Any help would be greatly appreciated or alternative suggestions.

It'd be a lot easier to make a smaller version of something like the adafruit "Wave Shield"; there is probably no way to fit several minutes worth of audio in the ATmega's internal flash no matter how clever your algorithm, and yet it is trivial to fit much higher quality audio in $5 of consumer flash card. (IIRC, Black's one-bit audio scheme is said to produce recognizable audio, but not of very good quality.)

If your stuffed toy is big enough, you would probably be better using a full size Arduino Uno and a wave shield. You can power it all with a small 9V battery (PP3) or the like.

Having said that, if you care more about the end result than the fun of playing with Arduino, then I bet you could find a self contained voice recording / playback module on the Internet for a few dollars. You could hack its 'play' button to give you the paw squeezing feature.

I wonder what would it take to have good quality audio using the 1 bit scheme? I was hoping to make a 12 or 16 bit drum-machine, but using multiple arduino-chips. Each chip would use the 1 bit output for the audio. But from the tests I did with the encoder software, audio quality sucks, unless there's a way to increase it with a faster bit-rate. (1Mhz?)