Need more I/O outputs?

Hello!
I recently bought an Arduino, and I'm very new to this, so I apologize if it's a stupid question.

I'm a bit worried about the fact that a single LED bar graph uses 10 of my 13 I/O outputs
I mean, how is it possible to have several displays,servos and sensors connected to the Arduino when a single component uses 10 of 13 outputs?
Do I need more shields or Arduino's to get more outputs, or is there another way to get around this problem?

The LED bar I use is this : 10 Segment LED Bar Graph - Red - COM-09935 - SparkFun Electronics

All help is appreciated

// Andreas

Jellycow:
Hello!
I recently bought an Arduino, and I'm very new to this, so I apologize if it's a stupid question.

I'm a bit worried about the fact that a single LED bar graph uses 10 of my 13 I/O outputs
I mean, how is it possible to have several displays,servos and sensors connected to the Arduino when a single component uses 10 of 13 outputs?
Do I need more shields or Arduino's to get more outputs, or is there another way to get around this problem?

The LED bar I use is this : 10 Segment LED Bar Graph - Red - COM-09935 - SparkFun Electronics

Google for "shift register ic", eg. this one: Shift Register 8-Bit - SN74HC595 - COM-13699 - SparkFun Electronics

Use this tutorial:-

But do not connect the 1uF capacitor to the latch signal, this bit is wrong, connect it to the 5V supply on the chip.

How is it that no one on the Arduino team (or those with access to the site content) has fixed that tutorial yet? It's been like that since the day it was published. Sheesh.

My guess is someone doesn't believe it is wrong.

Hi!
Thanks for the helpful answers!
I will definitely check that out :wink:

Jellycow:
Hello!