Connecting 3.5" TFT LCD Shield to Arduino UNO PROBLEMS!

Hey everyone, this is going to be long to provide the most comprehensive description of what is happening.

First off, I am new to Arduino. I am currently in a college class in which we are learning how to use them and have to make our own games with the Arduino, they are allowed to have a physical component but my group decided not to incorporate one.

Our game is a story based game on the Arduino. We have successfully connected a Wii Nunchuk controller to the RedBoard and the inputs from that work just fine. This will be the controller of our story based game that allows the user to play the different mini-games such as basic basketball based on how many times the user clicks a button before they swing their arm and a sort of DDR on the Arduino. This part of the project, the Nunchuk works well, but it is important that I mention it as it takes up two Analog pins.

The reason I bring this up is that we also have an LCD that we are wiring in and making graphics for (through .bmp imaged loaded onto an SD card). This is where we are having issues. Here's what I can provide you with.

The screen is 100% wired correctly. I hooked up all the pins directly to the same pins on the RedBoard that they would go to if it was placed on top of the RedBoard. I also know that it works since I am able to use the MCUFRIEND_kbv.h Library graphics test and graphics appear on it, at least, the ones that are written into the code. When I try to run the ShowBMP example from the library though, it compiles and uploads, but the serial monitor returns the "cannot read SD."

Now, this really goes against another library that I tried which was the TFT.h Library. That one said that it could read my SD card and went forward with trying to draw the image on the screen but would not, the backlight is all that appears on the screen for both.