Advice needed re: learning C++

What are good references/tutorials/books on C++, especially as used for programming AVRs and other MCUs?

I'm pretty new at this language and find it a little cryptic at times...

I program VB/VBA, and I am an EE by trade. I know electronics and RF, now need a supplement of C++.

Suggestions appreciated.

Just do it! Best way to learn. I am an EE also. Can be ugly code at times, gets better as you go. I look at stuff I wrote in August when I started vs now, huge difference.
Start with some simple stuff, and build up.

"Just do it!" Yes, that's my usual approach...

I've been able to get a lot of the small stuff and concepts down, my project now is a PID temp controller for a kiln...so I am finding out I need to know a whole lot more about C++!

Rather then reading reference manuals, I found I was picking up C/C++ faster by just reading as many of the existing example sketches as possible. Many are very simple and great for first learning, later one can even open up and read the many arduino 'core' library files to see how low level programming is used to manipulate the AVRs many registers. Make no mistake, C/C++ can be a write only language if the programmer wants to be very terse and obscure on how they perform tasks, but it's also possible to write and understand very simple and clear functions, the Arduino platform was based on developing easy to use and understand functions like digitalRead(pin#); rather then the low level commands needed to read a I/O port register and pick out the bit of interest.

With your background you will have little problem picking it up. And the AVR type applications are so down to earth most times, you don't get burdened by having to understand all the Windows API before you can even start writing simple programs.

Good luck and enjoy your Arduino, better then sliced bread.

Lefty

You could try the PID libary
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/PIDLibrary