How to power a 7.4v servo

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Arduino and wanting to set up a circuit for an art project I’m working on.

I’m looking at setting up a circuit that will consist of:

A PIR motion sensor that when activated triggers a servo to rotate and then return to its starting position.

It needs to be powered by wall mains, as it will be left on for around 12 hour stints and be triggered when someone enters the gallery.

I am looking at getting this PIR sensor, and believe it should run off of the Arduino 5V.

With regard to the servo, I have read a lot on the forum about the 5V pin not supplying enough power to a servo, and as the 5V pin is already being used to power the PIR sensor, I will need to power the servo externally, so to speak.

The project calls for a relatively powerful servo, and as I want to increase the rotating angle of the servo I will use a digital servo

To test the project while building I will buy a similar servo that runs on the same voltage and is digital, but cheaper: servo

I am stuck at how to set up powering the servo. The Arduino will run from the wall mains and power the sensor. The servo is 7.4V. What is the most efficient way of powering a 7.4V servo?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Tom

Photo-Tom:
and as the 5V pin is already being used to power the PIR sensor,

That is of course absolutely BS... If you want to plug your laptop and phone charger into the wall and you only have one socket, do you go off and buy a generator? No, you just split it.

Same here. And if it's an istallation that's at least semi permanent you should start to solder stuff anyway.

But you are right about the 5V pin not being able to supply enough. Just get yourself a DC-DC converter for the servo.

Although I have no idea if you can use 5V signals to control that servo when it's powered with 7,4V...

Thank you for your reply, it’s much appreciated.