How can I make a speaker "kick" air?

Hi

I am new to the world of arduino.
I am doing a project were I need to control a speaker unit.
I need to make the speaker cone move at a low frequency, so that it makes one “kick” of air.

The speaker I have is a woofer speaker:
50 Watts
4 ohms

Anybody know what I need to do this or know of a similar project with a guide.

Start by determing the real electrical (and mechanical) parameters of the speaker. 4Ohm 50W tell you absolutely nothing of value.
Next step would be to measure and graf the relationsship between current and excursion.
After that you can model upp a controlled current source that pulls the membrane back to its maximum position, flips the polrity of the current and then releases it.

nilton61:
Start by determing the real electrical (and mechanical) parameters of the speaker. 4Ohm 50W tell you absolutely nothing of value.

I'm not sure I know what you mean.

http://www.speakerdesign.net/models/models.html

You may have to do a lot of empirical testing.

Are you trying to make a vortex ring device using a speaker? I'm working on that, too. I'm not going to type in loads of stuff until I find out what it is you are trying to do.

Like any speaker system, you have to isolate the front from the back. The out-of-phase "wave"from the back of the speaker comes-around to the front at the speed of sound, and it will tend to cancel the sound (or wave/impulse) from the front. A large sealed box can be used, or maybe you can use a "tuned" ported box, or a long pipe.

A bigger speaker will move more air, as will a speaker with a larger X-max.