Using PID to control dc encoder motor's position

Hi,I am studying Brett Beauregard's website's PID control tutorial. It said "If this PID is going into a microcontroller, a very good argument can be made for using an interrupt. SetSampleTime sets the interrupt frequency, then Compute() gets called when it’s time."

I don't know which method is right :using running time of the loop() to be the sample time or each interrupt interval time to be the sample time as he mentioned?

If I choose running time of the loop() to be the sample time , it probably get so many PID outputs already than interrupt method dose once.

Interrupt time as samle time:the wheel's speed decreases before reaching the target position, the interrupt freq also decreases by the time. So I need to change SetSampleTime in process,right? I guess the interrupt time interval is decided by wheel rotation, and I need to know the rough time interval between each interrupt.

Hope someone can correct me if I am wrong. But don,t correct my grammar , because English is not my native language, please.

Thanks.

When interrupts are involved.... then it usually means that the sampling period is equal to the time interval between adjacent interrupts. But this is all an 'ideal' situation.... since carrying out instructions within an interrupt routine takes time. As long as significant amounts of time are accounted for... then ok.

But don,t correct my grammar , because English is not my native language

You don't want free hints on how to improve it?

Southpark:
As long as significant amounts of time are accounted for... then ok.

Dose significant means approximation? Because the time interval between adjacent interrupts actually is not a integer number, it has numbers after decimal point(float number). I have to add a millis() in the interrupt function to get the time interval when every interrupt is called,and think a method to sub each other.....