Updating OLED display without blocking other code

Hello! I am attempting to use this SPI OLED display with my project: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MZ8AOIF

I am using the Adafruit GFX library and the SSD1331 library for the display. I need to be able to update the display without interrupting my program. It's critical that the display does not affect the performance. Is it possible to update the display in a non-blocking way? If I do something such as clear the display and write text, my code freezes and waits until the display is finished updating to continue. Is there any way around that?

This is my first time dealing with a display, so any advice in this area is appreciated!

Any ideas on this? From what I've gathered, the more pixels written, the longer it takes... Is there a way to procedurally update the display? Say, draw 4 pixels every time on each loop instead of the entire screen? Is there any way to do this with the Adafruit GFX library or would that involve re-writing a bunch of things?

Any other ideas?

The usual solution is to implement time critical jobs as an interrupt procedure. I have not done this on an Arduino, but it looks like, that there are some libraries for this (Timing - Arduino Libraries). The idea is, to refresh the display in the Arduino main loop and to do any time critical calculation in the interrupt procedure. The interrupt procedure will have priority and whatever time is left, can be used for the display refresh.

Oliver

Explain which library example and which part is too slow.

If it is your own code, paste it to your message, attach a ZIP or post a link to repository e.g. GitHub.

I have never used a colour OLED. It will take 16 SPI bytes to draw 8 pixels on a colour OLED. It only takes 1 byte to draw 8 pixels on a Monochrome OLED.
I would expect a similar performance as a 128x128 TFT e.g. ST7735 or ILI9163.
The TFT libraries are very quick.