Arduino Uno not working with external power supply

Hi, I am a newbie with Arduino. I am trying to build a Line bot, but it is not working. I read a lot of information on the web but nothing solve the issue. The issue is basic, the board and the robot works fine when it is connected to the USB cable and the computer but as soon as i disconnect the USB from the computer and run with an external power supply the board stop executing the program loaded on it.

I am using a NiCd battery pack of 9.6volt used for RF cars, it is made from 8 AA battery. I can see the motor shield board and the Arduino are powered because their LED are on but the Arduino stop running the program loaded on it. If I use in parallel the External power supply and the USB cable the Arduino works fine and execute the program as expected, but if I unplugged the USB cable the Arduino stop to execute the program and restart to execute the program if I connect the USB back to the computer.

I though the program could have been to complicate but I load a simple flashing LED program and I got the same result, the LED is working only while connected to the USB cable and the computer.

I validate the power supply on the VIN pin and the ground and it seem OK the meter shows 8.7 volts.
I validate in board Manager and the right board is selected.

Please any help would be appreciated

Check the voltage on the 5v pin. If you do not have 5v, the regulator may have been damaged.

The power plug has a diode in series so the Vin would be about 0.6v lower than the input. This is what you have.

Weedpharma

You are right, I do not have 5v between the 5v pin and the ground, I have 1.8 volts. I will try with a new board to see if it works.

TO don't make the same mistake what could have damage the regulator???

Thanks for your help.