MAX72XX Sketches, don't compile..

Hi All,
I just got myself 2 Max7219's with PCB, comps, etc from China very cheap!! But it's the sketch or even any of the sketches in the Arduino IDE that fail to compile or upload. In all three sketches I get MD_MAX72XX does not name a type, and as I am very new to The Arduino and especially C there's lots I can't follow. It seems the code will run for either device (Max7219/21) but think it may need some user input to say which??

Perhaps somewhere I need to alter MAX72XX to MAX7219? Test on the circuit seem to confirm there's no problem there!!

Here's the code but it's straight out of the IDE so you should have it! I think.

Well it seems the code is too long and I can't show it, which might make this all a bit pointless, HELP!!

Any help or advice would be welcome.

Regards

Mel.

"Here's the code "
You didn't include it.
Click Reply, Additional Options, then attach it as a file.

Stryrofoam like that also generates a lot of static electricity, you're lucky that didn't zap the part.

Hi,
I've been storing chips in Stryrofoam for 30 years, all chip pins are at the same potential, so there's no potential (Danger) if you see what I mean!!

OK hopefully here's the code in the form of a file.

Thanks again.

Mel.

MD_MAX72xx_Test.ino (14.4 KB)

Awaiting my kit, found this link, included sketch compiles, unable to compile your sketch, missing library.

http://linksprite.com/wiki/index.php5?title=LED_Matrix_Kit

Hope this helps...

The max72xx library should work with your cheap Chinese type matrix units. It would help me if you can say what the exact error message is? IDE version would also be helpful, as the libraries will only work for v1 onwards.

On the surface it sounds like the libraries are not properly installed.

Sorry for my concussion, found the library and was able to compile all three (3) examples, sounds like your folder (ex. MD_MAX72xx) is not in your Library folder.

http://code.google.com/p/arduino-code-repository/