Shield conflict (motor driver/encoder reader) four questions

Hello All,

I'm a newbie to Arduino, although I have been making hardwired embedded systems since the 80s. I'm building a controller for my latest telescope mount and have opted to abandon the electronics I've built for it to date and use an Arduino to accomplish the tasks namely control and position acquisition.

I'm using an L293D based board I got off eBay from an American seller to control the DC motors bi-bidirectionally. I hope to use a Robogaia 3 axis encoder reader to read the quadrant encoders. I'm not married to either board. Please point out other non conflicting boards if you know of any.

First I could use a little clarification. The literature refers to lines as "pin" numbers. For example below it is noted that of the motor shield "Digital pins: used: 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12 Pin 9 and 10 are only used for the servo motors." It makes sense that D9 and D10 would be used to control servos as they are both PWM lines but those lines actually come out of pins 15 and 16. Is it general practice to refer to the digital data lines as "pins?"

The problem I'm having is there are a few pin (digital line) conflicts. Specifically D8,D9,D10

From various places in the motor driver documentation

// Pin usage with the Motorshield
// ---------------------------------------
// Analog pins: not used at all
// A0 ... A5 are still available
// They all can also be used as digital pins.
// Also I2C (A4=SDA and A5=SCL) can be used.
// These pins have a breadboard area on the shield.
// Digital pins: used: 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12
// Pin 9 and 10 are only used for the servo motors.
// Already in use: 0 (RX) and 1 (TX).
// Unused: 2,13
// Pin 2 has an soldering hole on the board,
// easy to connect a wire.
// Pin 13 is also connected to the system led.
// I2C is possible, but SPI is not possible since
// those pins are used.

The schematic can be seen at: