secondhand part sourcing

Hey all,
I'm new to arduino, just recently having finished my first project, which was a Temperature and Humidity Data Logger, I could really see myself diving head first into the world of Arduino... But that's obviously not free. But the 'duino bug bit me and I wanna build!!! lol

long story short, I act as the caregiver for my Mom, but I don't get paid for it. That being said, funds are beyond tight. I was wondering if anyone happened to know of a place to get boards and/or components secondhand? I figure it's unlikely there's anything of the sort, but I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask. I'm salvaging parts here and there when I can but it seems like it would be near impossible to find enough of the right components to actually complete a project.

Any help is appreciated. I could come up with shipping if anyone happens to have parts or boards that they won't be using anymore.

Really, it depends on whether you want to make a specific project or just any project. Most places in the world there is a huge amount of e-waste. If you keep your eye out for things being thrown away, you can get a lot of free parts. It could be fun to design projects around available parts rather than determining the parts you need to buy from the project you want to do.

Just do some research about the dangers of large charged capacitors you might find in some electronics salvage.

If you're persistent, you can get some ridiculous deals by placing low bids on eBay auctions with free shipping. There are so many auctions that sometimes parts end up selling for pennies. You need to expect to lose a lot of auctions for every one you win, and the Buy It Now prices from the Chinese sellers are already so low, so it's definitely something for someone with more time than money (or set up an automated bidding system if you want to get fancy).