INDUSTRIAL ENCODER

HI, I am currently working on a project with an industrial incremental encoder directly connected to the driver (as step /dir source ) to hand drive a stepper motor. The motor speed is insignificant as it just copies the movement of the encoder shaft by hand. My goal is torque. Everything works great.
The encoder has 5000 pulses per turn .
Now, for my design I need exactly 5080 pulses per turn. How can I use an Arduino board to accomplish these additional 80 pulses?

thanks for your help!

If you want 80 extra pulses within a total of 5000 why not just insert an extra pulse after every 62 pulses?

...R

Hi thanks for your reply. I´m an absolute newbie to Arduino (a couple of basic projects with steppers so far).
I want to connect the Arduino between the encoder output and the industrial stepper drive.
Please point me in what direction to start reading here or what Arduino library to look at..

When you said in your Original Post "Everything works great." I assumed you are already using an Arduino.

If not, can you describe whatever it is that you have that works great.

Please post links to the datasheets for the specific products you are using.

...R

Considering that say a 200 step motor is used, having 5000 or more pulses from an encoder seems an overkill.

Robin2:
If you want 80 extra pulses within a total of 5000 why not just insert an extra pulse after every 62 pulses?

...R

He would also have to handle the case where an extra pulse was added, but then the rotation direction was reversed. Sounds like a nightmare. And, why on earth 5000 pulses per rev? Just LOOKING at the encoder could output a few stray pulses! :slight_smile:

ADRITOO:
Now, for my design I need exactly 5080 pulses per turn. How can I use an Arduino board to accomplish these additional 80 pulses?

thanks for your help!

I'm guessing this is some metric thing? 25.4 * 200 = 5080.

One inch of movement for each rev of a 200 ppr stepper?