lto-wrapper.exe: fatal error

Can anyone please tell me what is going on here?...

Apologies if this has been solved before...and yes I'm a novice so child like explanations will be greatly appreciated...

lto-wrapper.exe: fatal error: C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\ArduinoLLC.ArduinoIDE_1.8.15.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt\hardware\tools\avr/bin/avr-gcc returned 1 exit status

compilation terminated.

c:/program files/windowsapps/arduinollc.arduinoide_1.8.15.0_x86__mdqgnx93n4wtt/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/5.4.0/../../../../avr/bin/ld.exe: error: lto-wrapper failed

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

exit status 1
Error compiling for board Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560.

If I were you I would remove the APP version and use the regular desktop version of the IDE.

One of the things we see in here quite often is the windows store version not playing as nice as it should.

Version 1.8.5 seems the most stable at the moment

I am using beta 1.9
I'd be interested in the text before the text you posted.

For example:

I experienced this error when I was a little overzealous with my decimal places in a float.
I noticed a clue in the error with the word "float"
If this is like yours, try knocking off some decimal places in your decimal numbers.

Error text output:

sketch\src\module\motion.cpp: In function 'clamp_to_software_endstops(float*) [clone .part.2]':

sketch\src\module\motion.cpp:494:3: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault

lto-wrapper.exe: fatal error: C:\Program Files (x86)\arduino-PR-beta1.9-BUILD-84\hardware\tools\avr/bin/avr-gcc returned 1 exit status

compilation terminated.

c:/program files (x86)/arduino-pr-beta1.9-build-84/hardware/tools/avr/bin/../lib/gcc/avr/5.4.0/../../../../avr/bin/ld.exe: error: lto-wrapper failed

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

exit status 1

Otherwise try to seek a clue in the output. In my case I was tipped off because I hadn't made many changes to the file.

Hello,