Time for a new iron

I've been using one of these for a few years:

It's been OK for soldering wires together and light repair work but it's frustrating working on the smaller stuff I'm into now. Plus RS doesn't stock replacement tips.

I'm on a budget so I'd like to come in under $100. Anything would be an upgrade...

Any advise? I've looked at the combo iron/hot air deals on ebay but I'm not sure if I'd use the hot air part and it would just be taking up space on an already cluttered bench.

If my current project works out I may celebrate with a new iron :slight_smile:

hakko fx-888 http://www.amazon.com/Hakko-FX-888-Soldering-Station/dp/B004M3U0VU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342623626&sr=8-1&keywords=hakko+fx-888

Interesting modification; http://www.eevblog.com/2012/02/03/eevblog-242-hakko-fx-888-soldering-iron-hack/

The combo hot air/soldering iron devices, at least the cheap ones, do not have very good soldering irons.

I've got the radioshack butane soldering iron and it works great for me, its like 20$ and 10$ replacement tip, but if you wipe it clean after each use it'll last a long time

hakko fx-888

Absolutely.

After getting my Hakko FX-888 I will NEVER go back to anything less.

You will not believe how much nicer it is to use a real, high quality soldering station.

Metcal makes the best soldering equipment. I use a second-hand Metcal STSS power unit with a new MX-500 handpiece and cartridges, it wasn't expensive.

Looks like the Hakko fits the bill. I've seen the Metcal units used on youtube and they look very nice but a bit pricey.

I figured I'd hear some Weller recommendations.

I got a used a Weller ( a good one) in 1979 and still have the same one... They are great... but the cheap ones are not great.

Hakko fits the bill. It's my preferred iron now.