Setting a wire to ground when it always has a voltage on the other end.

Hey folks,

I'm trying to create a simulator of a controller for the Sega Master System using the Arduino however I've became a bit stuck since the controller doesn't work quite how I imagined and, as you probably expected, I'm pretty new to the whole Arduino and electronics business.

The main issue is in bold

What I've done so far is stripped the connecting wire from the controller so that I have the connector and its 7 wires. I know what each of the wire does by taking note before disconnecting them (I may be new but I'm not daft ;)) and also from the several sources of information that are available on-line.

It's a simple controller and here is a quick explanation for those who aren't aware: It has 6 buttons, Up, Down, Left, Right, 1 and 2 each of which has its own wire. The 7th wire is ground. Each of the button's wires has a small voltage through it and when a button is pressed it is connected to ground completing a circuit and the system detects that the button is pressed. You can read about it at SegaMaster System (SMS) and MegaDrive joystick pinout diagram @ pinoutguide.com.

The problem I'm facing is that I assumed each of the buttons would have no voltage and that wire 7 would be 5v or so, so that when a button was pressed it would get voltage and the system would know it is on. I could simulate this myself easily by connecting the 6 wires to digital outs and switching between HIGH or LOW however this clearly isn't the case and it appears the reverse is true.

The way I was thinking of doing it was to connect the pins directly to the Arduino despite the voltage and set the pins to HIGH for the button not being pressed then LOW for when they are. This doesn't 'feel' right though as it wouldn't be completing a circuit, would it?