DC Motors on Arduino UNO obstacle avoiding robot do not work

Hello,

The DC motors on my obstacle avoiding robot do not work. Being a beginner, I am unaware of what is causing this issue. I am using the following to construct:

1.Arduino UNO
2.Motor Shield
3.Ultrasonic Sensor HC-SR04
4.Breadboard
5.2 DC Motors

Here is the Instructables link I am using to construct the robot (exact replica) for further guidance:

I am using the code that is published on that link:

#include <AFMotor.h> //import your motor shield library
#define trigPin 12 // define the pins of your sensor
#define echoPin 13 
AF_DCMotor motor1(1,MOTOR12_64KHZ); // set up motors.
AF_DCMotor motor2(2, MOTOR12_8KHZ);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600); // begin serial communitication  
  Serial.println("Motor test!");
   pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);// set the trig pin to output (Send sound waves)
  pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);// set the echo pin to input (recieve sound waves)
  motor1.setSpeed(105); //set the speed of the motors, between 0-255
motor2.setSpeed (105);  
}

void loop() {

long duration, distance; // start the scan
  digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);  
  delayMicroseconds(2); // delays are required for a succesful sensor operation.
  digitalWrite(trigPin, HIGH);

delayMicroseconds(10); //this delay is required as well!
  digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);
  duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);
  distance = (duration/2) / 29.1;// convert the distance to centimeters.
  if (distance < 25)/*if there's an obstacle 25 centimers, ahead, do the following: */ {   
   Serial.println ("Close Obstacle detected!" );
Serial.println ("Obstacle Details:");
Serial.print ("Distance From Robot is " );
Serial.print ( distance);
Serial.print ( " CM!");// print out the distance in centimeters.

Serial.println (" The obstacle is declared a threat due to close distance. ");
Serial.println (" Turning !");
    motor1.run(FORWARD);  // Turn as long as there's an obstacle ahead.
    motor2.run (BACKWARD);

}
  else {