5k throttle for motor controller

Hello I am somewhat new to arduino and I am building a motor controller for my electric car. I need to come up with some way of using a 5k potentiometer as an input to send out a pwm from 0-8khertz(this is just a rough guess but some motor controllers go up to about 15khertz) or so. The analog input is a good start but doesn't shut off when the pot is at 5k and doesn't do nearly high enough in frequency. I checked around on different libraries and there doesn't seem to be anything like it.

Is it usual to vary the PWM frequency?
Usually, it's just the duty cycle that varies.

Remember the analogue input returns values from 0 to 4095 where as the PWM analogue write only accepts values from 0 to 255.

Make that:

"Remember the analogue input returns values from 0 to 4095 1023 (10 bit A/D) where as the PWM analogue write only accepts values from 0 to 255. "

Lefty

Hello I am somewhat new to arduino and I am building a motor controller for my electric car. I need to come up with some way of using a 5k potentiometer as an input to send out a pwm from 0-8khertz(this is just a rough guess but some motor controllers go up to about 15khertz) or so. The analog input is a good start but doesn't shut off when the pot is at 5k and doesn't do nearly high enough in frequency. I checked around on different libraries and there doesn't seem to be anything like it.

I'm struggling to make sense of this. Do you mean you are doing something like

analogWrite (outpin, analogRead (inpin) / 4) ;

You seem to have two issues, one that the PWM output is at too low a frequency (you want 8kHz or 15kHz, whereas the Arduino default is 1kHz or 500Hz approx).

The other is that you aren't driving the output to constantly high when your potentiometer is turned fully clockwise?