Can you get better than 10 bit A to D resolution from the Arduino platform.

I am a total newbee to Arduino (in fact, to solid state electronics in general). I am trying to monitor and control the temperature in an electric furnace (0 to 2400 deg. F) using a type K thermocouple connected to an AD8495 amp, connected to the Arduino (was thinking of using a Mega 2560) which would then be connected to the PC, running a C++ program to monitor furnace temperature. The C++ program would also control the furnace temp. by sending on\ off signals back to the Arduino, which would then switch power on and off to the furnace using an SCR. My problem is (I think) the 10 bit resolution of the A to D in the Arduino. I am measuring temps. from about 70 deg. F to about 2400 deg. F. 2400- 70 = 2330. 2330/1024 = 2.28. I suppose I could live with 2.28 deg F, resolution, but is there a simple way to get 1 deg. F resolution in this scenario? This may be (probably is) a stupid question, but like I said, I am a total newbee, and when I tried to search for an answer to this question, all I could find was a suggestion to use two A to D inputs, but it did not explain how to do this, much less how to do this seamlessly. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I would greatly prefer staying with the Arduino platform, as any journeys off into IC individual component never-never land would leave me hopelessly lost! Thanks much; you folks have a great thing going here and I was really lucky to have been steered onto it!

In practice your resolution will be lower, because of the noise and other factors.
You may do more measurements (ie. 1000), sum up all the measurements and then divide the sum by 1000 - that is called averaging. You will get better resolution. The noise helps (dithering).

Another approach is smoothing/filtering (low pass filter). You do measurements in a loop where (for example):

new_temp = analogRead(1);