I"m lost and cornfused

I am retired and decided to play around with an electronic kit. I bought the Ultimate kit with Arduino Uno. Lots of parts and no instuctions.
I search on the web and found a book "Getting Started with Arduino" I now know how to program and make the single LEDS flash anyway I want to. I built traffic light with pedistren cossing. (I program industrial controlers for a living) the rest of the book is devoted to someother board and a sprinkler system. I live in a retirement home. I get that the book and Arduino is to help make you think. I have never wired or program LED display or stepper motors nor do i know what some of the parts are that came with the kit. Enoght of this crying.

My current problem is trying to work with the 4 digit 7 segment LED that came with the kit. I have found several example to wire and program the display with the board that I have. Problem is they have more pins then i do and i do not know the pin layout. The LED is SH5463AS this is a 12 Pin chip not 16 that I keep finding on the web. Some use diferent size resisters and other use transisters. I need to learn some basic facts.

I do have an electrical backround. I learned tube theory. very little digit theory. School during the 50's.

Maybe, this will help ?

SH5463AS Demo

Does this look like your 7-segment display?

There's a datasheet available from the above link.

If this is the same display you're using, you'll want to use a 220 ohm resistors on the cathodes.

You'll want some way to drive the anodes since you wouldn't want to directly drive the anodes with a I/O pin (it could damage the Arduino to do so).

Edit: I see mrsummitville posted while I was typing.

mrsummitville:
Maybe, this will help ?

SH5463AS Demo

Where are the resistors?

Am I missing something? It looks like they're driving the display without resistors! Why?

I found the following in the program's comments.

This is an example of how to drive a 7 segment LED display from an ATmega