how to make something time sensitive??

Hi. I'm working on a project and I need help writing a code that would function as ...

(if analogRead reaches a certain voltage for a certain amount of time then digitalWrite HIGH)

I really only need help with how to code the input durations.

Please and Thank You

Pseudo code (relies on you knowing about state change detection) but it should show you :slight_smile:

if(voltageBecomesAboveThreshold){
  savedTime = millis();
}
if(voltageIsAboveThreshold && millis() - savedTime > duration){
  digitalWrite(pin, HIGH);
}

Thank you. below is my code. I'm getting an error code of "too many arguments to function"

I am new to coding and slowly learning. Any help is greatly appreciated.

TM_saver_sketch.ino (609 Bytes)

Welcome to the group.

Slow down and look at the example sketches that came with the IDE.
In particular, look at the BWD blink without delay and the analog input examples.

Study how millis() works. Here's a good place to start.

It doesn't take arguments so nothing can go in the brackets.

It returns the time in milliseconds since the arduino booted - that's all it does.

so I guess one question would be is how feasible is my project.

I want the Arduino to monitor the load of an electric motor. I have a circuit to convert Amps to mVdc

If the motor reaches X amps its only rated to hold that for 50min
(Y amps for 25min) and (Z amps for 8min) and if it reaches any of those then activate a relay to knock the load down.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html then look down to item #7 about how to post your code.
It will be formatted in a scrolling window that makes it easier to read.

Can you please post a copy of your circuit, in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg, png?

Your proposal is very possible, even to adding a readout of current and time the motor has been in the maxload region.