What motivates you?

Hello everybody!

since I am new to this forum, I just would like to introduce myself. I am a graduate student based in Milan, Italy and I am currently doing research on motivation in open-source hardware development. For my master thesis I am trying to find out what motivates open-source hardware developers.

If you have any questions about me or my research, please let me know.

To get some more input: What motivates you? Why are you part of the Arduino community?

Thanks to everyone, and I am looking forward to insightful discussions :slight_smile:

these pops in my mind

• sharing knowledge is fun - to 'see' someone having the AHA erlebnis)
  • being able to create something that actually works (after a lot of ...)
  • there is a lot of respect in the community (well, much above average, see other thread for details)
  • astonishing projects by some people
  • beating the "minimal" resources/capabilities of the 328 micro processor to get things done

What is your master degree in? I would assume some type of electronics?

I just do it because it's fun. I like to create something useful and then see it work. Even if it's just creating my own alarm clock. Finding all of the parts and building something is a lot of fun.

Please check it out:

Great, bedankt, Rob! Great to hear your thoughts, it confirms some of the theories I had so far. On the opposite, could you imagine something that would stop you from working on Arduino? Something that demotivates you?

CSGuy, that looks amazing. Just started with a starter kit to get a better understanding, but it will probably take a while to get there. My masters is in Economics and Management of Innovation and Technology, and I am trying to find out what motivates Arduino hardware developers.

Would be great to get more insights! Anyone has a special reason for working with Arduino? What frustrates you, and what makes you happy working with Arduino?

jaspalex: