Implementing Commands to control RFID reader

Hi,

I am new to programming in general, and I have hit a bit of a road block.

I am trying to communicate with an RFID module via a command protocol. Please see page 12 on the attached PDF. This is something which I don not fully understand, despite my endless attempts to get to understand it.
My question is: What way should I send the data to the reader? Should it be something like mySerial.println("MOF") and wait for response. Or should I write each character individually? This then brings up the question of what is, and how to write to serial?

I am kindof struggling with this topic at the moment, so if someone could offer any help or some relative literature which I could go through and maybe come back with more intelligible questions.

Many thanks, Micheal.

rfidrw-e-ttl.pdf (543 KB)

mmi698:
I am trying to communicate with an RFID module via a command protocol...

Perhaps you could post your sketch here so others can see what you have done so far.

Normally, you use the standard 'Serial' library and transmit and receive using the functions built in, which you have already discovered (partly) anyway.

For example, to read a serial port stream of data you might use:

if (Serial.available() > 0) {
  char dataChar = Serial.read();
}

You can monitor and send data back to the Arduino using the serial monitor window. Have you done this?

Finally, is just Carriage Return and is decimal value 13 or 0x0D in hexadecimal (basically much the same as hitting the Enter key after typing something on your keyboard. You could do this with Serial.write(13), for example. Usually (and hugely simplified), Serial.print is used to send the actual (ascii) character, whereas Serial.write is used to send a value such as command codes.

But post your code (so far) and we may be able to move forward.

Note Serial.println adds a carriage return onto what you write automatically.

Thanks for your input Ralph,