A thought about charging batteries

I was just reading an article on electric cars, and got to thinking about how resistance drops when you wire resistors in parrallel.

Now I'm still a noob to electronics, so I have no idea if this idea has any merit, but the thought I just had now was this:

When you charge a battery, like say, one of those RC batteries... it gets really hot. And heat is generated when there is a lot of resistance and you're trying to put a lot of current through at once. Batteries can explode from this heat, which I suppose, along with breakdown of the chemicals, may be one of the limiting factors in charging them fast.

So I got to thinking... Those batteries in the nicad packs are wired in series. The current has to flow through them all. If the batteries have resistance, that will add up. But what if the batteries were wired in parralel? Just for the charge cycle. Wouldn't that be kind of like wiring resistors in parallel? And wouldn't that lower the overall resistance to the current? Might that keep the batteries cooler, because battery #1 doesn't have to pass all the juice for 6 batteries through it? And thus, wouldn't that allow you to charge the batteires faster without breaking down the chemicals or risking an explosion?

I don't know. What do you think?

You's have to use more circuitry, because in parallel, there is no guarantee each battery will get the same amount of current.

Worst case, one battery will receive the current supplied to charge six, or whatever number. Boom

I don't know. What do you think?

I think that battery cell heat will be the same no matter if charged in series or parallel. Charge rate is a trade-off between how long you want to wait for a full charge to accumulate Vs how high a charge current you can force through a cell before damaging it. So for equal charge rate you get equal cell heat, equal charging time, no matter what the battery cell configuration is.

Lefty

The only real solutions are to