Serial Connection to Fingerprint sensor works only with PC.

Hello,

I am using Arduino YUN to experiment a fingerprint sensor based switch to ON/OFF a circuit. I was able to accomplish the result only with the serial monitor open.

What I need is a standalone connection from YUN board to the fingerprint sensor. As of now the fingerprint sensor only powers on if the serial monitor is open. Please help I am new to Arduino.

Thanks,

Nithin Dandamudi

No link to that fingerprint sensor, no wiring diagram of your current setup, based on which information should we help you?

I can make a wild guess: there is no power supply for the Arduino if you don't connect the USB to the PC. I may be wrong but you wrote nothing about a second power supply you're using so I assume you don't have one.

Thank you for the reply.
I am using a basic Arduino compatible adafruit sensor.

The communication between Arduino and the fingerprint sensor starts only if the Arduino is connected to PC AND the serial monitor is opened. The sensor doesn’t even power on until then.

Even if the Arduino YUN is connected to a wall adapter or if it is connected to a PC without the serial monitor open, the communication doesn’t start and the sensor doesn’t power on.
I am using the example named ‘fingerprint’ in the adafruit finger sensor library.

I hope this make it clear. Please advise.

The communication between Arduino and the fingerprint sensor starts only if the Arduino is connected to PC AND the serial monitor is opened. The sensor doesn't even power on until then.

How do you know?

Page 13 of the manual:

It is normal for the sensor to blink the LED quickly once powered, after that the LED will be off until you've
started to request data from it