Atmega8 Wrong Signatures

Hi Arduino,
I am new to arduino, no practice in electronics but have knowledge of some basic electronics.
I have designed two arduino boards using http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardSerialSingleSided3 and tried to burn the bootloader using Parallel Programmer http://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/ParallelProgrammer.
Each time i try to burn bootloader suing Arduino IDE 0022, avrdude tells that device ATMEGA8 returned wrong signatures, i made two ATMEGA8 useless.
Then i got another one, but first i tried to read from the avrdude directly using cli and device returned correct signatures, i returned to Arduino IDE 002 agian to burn the bootloader and same thing happened again, i lost that one too. Even using the avrdude on cli the error is same (wrong signature).
Its been a month since i m stuck.
1- What is going on ?
2- If i get another ATMEGA8 then what should be my next strategy ?
3- What am i doing wrong or what should i do ?
Please help

DUDE! I hope your not throwing those At8's away man! They are NOT bad (PROMISE!)

Let me go ahead and ask this much: How are you supplying power to the chip while flasing? I have had the exact same thing happen to me with the Atmega32L but it was because the Arduino (as ISP) didn't supply enough power to power up the chip, but as soon as I used an off board power source for the chip (for me, 4x AA batteries, and I have it wired to a 5v regulator for consistency).

Try that first. Also what version of avrdude are you using?

There's a while slew of things that could cause that issue. I'll give you the link to what I found when trying to program the Atmega32L.

Also try to erase the chip first before any operation. This can also help.