Mega - using Serial, Serial1, Serial2 and Serial3

Hello,

I am a self-taught programmer, so I'm hoping there is an easy and obvious solution for my problem, but I cannot find one anywhere.

I have a single "master" Mega talking with multiple Mega boards using the serial pins. Each "slave" is identical and I am hoping to simplify the code. Is there an easy way to redefine the following commands:

switch "board" {
case "0":
Serial.print(...); break;
case "1":
Serial1.print(...); break;
case "2":
Serial2.print(...); break;
default:
}

Basically, I'm looking for something like the following:

Serial(board).print(...);

I'm sure I could write my own functions to give the effect of mySerialPrint(board, value), but I was hoping for an obvious answer.

Thanks,
Greg

Hello,

I would use switch...case. I don't see your problem with it. But, your code has some errors as I see it:

switch(board) {  //change the " to ( and )
case "0":  //do only use "0" if board is a variable of the type string or char. If it's an int, use just 0 (without the ")
   Serial.print(...); break;
case "1":  //ditto
   Serial1.print(...); break;
case "2":  //ditto again
   Serial2.print(...); break;
default:
}

No, there is no such function like Serial(board).print();

Jan

Serial, Serial1, Serial2 and Serial3 are all instances of the HardwareSerial class. You could create an array of HardwareSerial objects containing the instances:

HardwareSerial hs[4] = {Serial, Serial1, Serial2, Serial3};

Then, use them:

hs[1].print(someValue);

This would send someValue to Serial1.

PaulS:
Serial, Serial1, Serial2 and Serial3 are all instances of the HardwareSerial class. You could create an array of HardwareSerial objects containing the instances:

HardwareSerial hs[4] = {Serial, Serial1, Serial2, Serial3};

Then, use them:

hs[1].print(someValue);

This would send someValue to Serial1.