Joystick controlled RGB LED

I'm new to the Arduino club. I've been working my way through my Elegoo project box tutorials, but after every lesson, I try to branch off and figure out how to use what I just learned.

I finished the joystick tutorial and thought it would be fun to have it control an RGB LED. I tried looking up if anyone else had done it, and they have, but when reading it, it just felt like their code was complicated, so I set out to make a simple one. Found other posts where people were looking for the same thing, but never really got their questions answered.

So, I'm just going to post my code here for those looking for a more beginner level Joystick controlled RGB LED.

//Note that all the color value variables are used to dim the respective LED.
//Meaning, the axis on the joystick associated with redValue will dim RED
//instead of making that direction RED. 

// const int SW_pin = 2; //Switch currently unused
const int X_pin = 0;  // VRx connected to A0
const int Y_pin = 1;  // VRy connected to A1
#define RED 11        // Red to Digital 11
#define BLUE 10       // Blue to Digital 10
#define GREEN 9       // Green to Digital 9

void setup() {
//  pinMode(SW_pin, INPUT);       //Swith currently unused
//  digitalWrite(SW_pin, HIGH);   //Swith currently unused
//  Serial.begin(9600);           //Serial was used for debugging. Turn on to see values. 

pinMode(RED, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(GREEN, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(BLUE, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int x = 0;
  int y = 0;
  x = analogRead(X_pin);              //Read VRx normally
  y = abs(1023-(analogRead(Y_pin)));  //Invert VRy read, as the module is inverted

int redValue = 0;
  int greenValue = 0;
  int blueValue = 0;
  int xValue = 0;     //xValue is later reffered to as "douse," as it's main role is to douse the red and and blue LEDs

xValue = (map(y, 512, 1023, 0, 255));             //Douse is the upper half of the Y axis