kinect arduino controling motor speed depending on how many people in area

Hello,

I'm a vienna based artist and not a programmer =(

Thats probably the reason why I hassle arround with those kinect in front of me having installed processing, OpenNI/NITE, Visual Studio Express, Drivers and all what I get are lousy error messages :wink:

So I give it a try, to ask here for help for my project, which hopefully sounds so simple to you:

The must have:
I want to have the kinect telling the arduino board duemilanove how many people are in the area in front of it. with this information, the arduino must control the speed of an motor: count people = 0 > no movement / count people > 0 increase the speed / depending on the numbers of people the kinect can register, max people = max speed and all in between 0 to max is the percentage of the motor speed. So I think something like the kinect send some signal to the serial port the arduino is connected to and the arduino does give an output somehow to control the speeed of an motor.

The nice to have:
If it is possible and not millions of code lines, not only the numer of people but also the intensity of their movement should in/decrease the motor speed.

The Setup would be:
Some Win7 PC 32bit OS, a xbox 360 kinect device connected with usb, the arduino connected with usb, some strong motor (not available yet, recommendations are welcome).

does this sound like "hey, here you have a link to some readymade code examples which are readymade exactly to solve your problem" to you? :smiley:

I appreciate any suggestions how to setup, which software to use, what type of motor to get.
I also think about to pay someone somehow to solve this for me (no idea about the budget yet)...

Thanks a lot and greets from vienna
Tom

Tom
Sound like a nice project.