Beyond Processing, ie. C#, C++, Python etc...

Hey guys,

I'm very new to Processing and Arduino. I do however have some general programming experience, quickbasic, visual basic (6) and .NET, filemaker and a bit of html and css. and have written some workable and useful solutions. (that was a while ago :disappointed_relieved: )

The main function of this new program will be for data acquisition, ie. data logger.

What I would like to do is record and save the data to computer disk (which I have been able to do with Processing) but improve on the GUI, ie. basic buttons, drop down menus, check boxes, open/save dialog box, basic 2d graph plotting - pretty basic requirements I would think.

One main requirement is being able to create a "stand alone solution". Mainly for pc, but mac os and linux would be handy.

I've done a fair bit of research in the last couple of weeks but still are unable to choose which direction to take. I downloaded the free version of Visual Studio C# 2010 and had a look at a simple serial program that I got off the net - It had to be converted from an older version so I don't know if there was a lot of redundant code, but there was so much code for such a simple task that it confused the hell out me.

I had a look at some Python examples and I quite liked the look of it. I have always wanted to learn C but in some ways I would rather work on the usability and functionality (from the end user point of view).

Your experiences and suggestions much appreciated.

Cheers.

You may be interested in this simple Python GUI demo and this non-GUI Python comms demo.

The Python TKInter GUI stuff works across platforms, but I can't recall if it needs to be specially installed on the PC or whether you can bundle it with your app and have it work anywhere.