MKR1000 failed after resting

Hello,

Here is some background; I am new to posting on this forum, however, I am not new to Arduino. I have plenty of experience with the lesser boards (Uno and such). Recently I received the Arduino engineering kit and was working through it. I have made it to the rover, specifically section 5.3, and I was interrupted with my project, so the rover has sat, undisturbed, on my desk for 3 months now.

My problem: This evening I picked up my rover and attempted to plug it in. The lights came on but my computer did not recognize the device. I checked my device manager and found no USB connection. I changed the cable, twice. I went and grabbed another microcontroller and it easily connected to the computer. Next, I checked the forum and found the "Loop-Back" test instructions. That was a dud. I tried to double-press the reset button on the board, but nothing happened. The only feedback I am receiving is that the power indicator light is on, solid green.

what could be the issue to my connection troubles?
what can I do to fix it?
what could have caused said issue after the board sat, undisturbed, for nearly three months?

I am reaching out in hopes that my problem can be resolved. My only hope is that I do not need to scrap this lovely board.

Thank you all in advance for the help.

Cheers,
Flip

Just got some action here. The board has been plugged in for a while now with nothing happening. The charge indicator LED started blinking with an interval of 1 second.

what could that indicate? there is nothing plugged into the board. It sits alone, next to my mousepad. No lipo battery, no extra connections, no shields, nothing.

Flipasaurus:
Next, I checked the forum and found the "Loop-Back" test instructions. That was a dud.

The loop-back test only works on the Arduino boards with an external USB to TTL serial adapter. You can't use it with the native USB boards like the MKR1000.