Industrial 101: Ethernet wiring guide wrong?

On arduino.org, I found: How to realize an Ethernet connection using an Arduino Industrial 101

According to that guide, one needs to connect the pins of a female RJ45 connector as follows:

• 1: TD+
  • 2: TD-
  • 3: VCC
  • 4: RD+
  • 5: RD-
  • 6: GND

That's what I did, with a milled PCB, and it doesn't work. I connected the board to my laptop's Ethernet port. The status lights on my laptop's connector don't turn on. When my laptop is connected e.g. to the switch in a DSL router, Ethernet works fine. So there seems to be something wrong with the board built around the Industrial 101.

Now in other locations on the Internet, e.g. in the Wikipedia article on TIA/EIA-568, I find a different pinout for the RJ45 connector:

• 1: TX+ (TD+?)
  • 2: TX- (TD-?)
  • 3: RX+ (RD+?)
  • 4: -
  • 5: RX- (RD-?)
  • 6: -

How do I connect the RJ45 connector for Ethernet?

Full disclosure: I have no direct experience with the Industrial 101, but I have worked on a number of Ethernet interfaces.

feklee:
According to that guide, one needs to connect the pins of a female RJ45 connector as follows:

• 1: TD+
  • 2: TD-
  • 3: VCC
  • 4: RD+
  • 5: RD-
  • 6: GND

Looks reasonable - the Tx/Rx direction is reversed from the labels on the connector's data sheet, but that's not unusual: it all depends on your point of view, because what one side considers Tx and Rx has the opposite meaning on the other end of the cable.

Now in other locations on the Internet, e.g. in the Wikipedia article on TIA/EIA-568, I find a different pinout for the RJ45 connector:

• 1: TX+ (TD+?)
  • 2: TX- (TD-?)
  • 3: RX+ (RD+?)
  • 4: -
  • 5: RX- (RD-?)
  • 6: -

That also looks reasonable. But why are the connections so different? Did you look at the datasheet for the connector used in the original guide you referenced?