Your opinion on a motor for a fan

I recently got my first CNC machine (desktop 3018) and have quickly come to the realization that I NEED dust collection. I have a shop vac. Two actually. But they are extremely loud. And the systems I have seen in my searches are really large (for a shop), really expensive, or both.

So, having a CNC, I decided to build my own. And the first piece of the puzzle is finding a suitable motor.

My thoughts, for now are to keep it small. Thinking a 5 or 6 inch diameter impeller (see pic) with at least 8 veins (if that's the right word) powered by a 24 (maybe a 36) volt motor. For tubing (single tube), I'm thinking 2" diameter. And shouldn't need to be longer than 2 or 3 feet. And I'm not looking for suction enough to to pick up bowling balls. My main concern is capturing the fine dust that gets all over the room.

Therefore, I'm looking for a higher RPM motor with a bit of torque that runs fairly quietly (brushless?). As I have no experience with motors, I ask you folks for opinions/advice on selecting a motor. Any specific model that would fit the bill? Also, if I'm overlooking something or getting the cart before the horse, speak up.

Thanks in advance!

fan.jpg

fan.jpg

OMG how did I know this was coming.

Will give a run down on some things tomorrow.

However 4 inch or 3 inch duct is a common approach and inline fans work quite well.
For smaller stuff I also use a cyclone separator to save big time on dust bags.
Advantage is that they can often be situated away from the source.

Bob.