Accurate timing synchronization between two arduinos

Hello, this is my first time posting on the forum as I generally find solutions to my problems with a bit of research or trial and error.

My current project is the design of a laser 'tripwire' with a gateway design to accurately measure the time lapsed between a starting and finishing point. I have built two gateways, one start and one finish, with laser dot diodes and photoresistors to create a trigger when breached.

My original plan was to find a wireless method, which I attempted with a Bluetooth module, but timing restrictions required me to design a wired backup which relies on only one Arduino. To achieve wireless communication with accurate timekeeping, I have two issues that I cannot seem to solve: synchronizing timing between two separate Arduino modules, most likely nanos, and finding a wireless method that maintains an error range beneath one second.

I no longer have any timing restrictions on my project as I do have a working wired model, but I do not enjoy wasting wire and solder when a $0.30 solution might be available.

Any help would be sincerely appreciated. :slight_smile:

So you need to keep the time error less than a second?
That's easy. Just about any wireless method will be able to send a "start" (or "stop", for that matter) signal to the other side, tell it to start counting the time. Shouldn't take more than 100 ms, probably less than 10 ms.
Depending on the kind of dollars you use, I think it will be a bit more than $0.3 for a wireless solution. Actually I cant think of any flavour of $ that can do this for that low a number.

The cost criterion suggests a mass-produced commercial product, in which case you will probably be negotiating with an Asian supplier.

The Arduino forum is not the place to look.

You can use NRF24 module. https://howtomechatronics.com/tutorials/arduino/arduino-wireless-communication-nrf24l01-tutorial/

What is a distance between gateways?