IM NEW - Making a GPS thingy.

Hello,

I am totally new to arduino.

I came here because I need to make a small battery powered device, which would

1. Roughly every second or every other second receive coordinates from the Global possitioning satellite
    system. These coordinates would have to be very accurate +/- 2-3 meters at most.

2. Take those coordinates and write them onto a tiny hard drive.

this device would need to be as small as possible, it would need to be powered by an arrangment of standard store batteries and it would need to be able to preform its functions for atleast 72 hours without a battery switch.

If the battery happened to empty, it is crucial that the data meassured and writen on the hard drive remains uncorrupted.

My personal experiences:

I have a soldering iron, and I know how to use it. I have experience in programming in both C and C++.

I have however no hardware atm, and no experience in buying it for such a task. The primary thing I am asking for is a guidence with purchasing the hardware.

Since I have no experience with purchasing this type of hardware, I have no idea what the price range for such a device would be. But if it could be done for 50 or 60 euros that would be ideal.
Can you please suggest a list of components and where to buy them? If it matters, I live in central Europe.

"As small as possible" is pretty meaningless. What is the maximum size (in real measurements like inches or mm) that your device must be?

It doesn't really sound like an Arduino project. You need lots of storage and very low power consumption and neither of those are what Arduinos are really good at.

Steve

One way to do it would be to get an Arduino equivalent that has an SD card holder on it. The SD card would have ample capacity to store your position data.

Hook it up to a GPS module, figure out how much battery capacity you would need for 72 hours and get an appropriate battery holder.