Serial read needs delay?

Hello, I've made a function to receive a string via SoftwareSerial. In the function I've had to include a short delay <delay(5)> or the incoming string shows random ascii characters at seemingly random times. Can anyone explain to me why this happens? If I make the delay any shorter than 5 milliseconds the errors occur. The shorter the delay, the more frequent the errors occur.

Below is my test program which I will eventually implement on an RS485 network, so the send_message() function also sends a signal to the MAX485 chip to transmit on the network. Please ignore this part of the example.

An aside: Although I'm no software developer, I hope this example helps others in their Arduino serial communication. I've learned so much about programming from this forum that I hope to be able to give back. If this is somehow a poor example of code, please correct it for the benefit of everyone else. :slight_smile:

Why do I need that small delay in receive_message()?

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

#define RS485RX          2
#define RS485TX          3
#define TxControl 4               //RS485 Direction control
#define Transmit    HIGH
#define Receive     LOW

String message;
byte start_of_text = 2;
byte end_of_text = 3;

SoftwareSerial RS485(RS485RX, RS485TX); // RX, TX

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  RS485.begin(9600);
  delay(100);
  Serial.println("Connection established at 9600 baud from SLAVE to COMPUTER.");
}

void loop() {
  message = receive_message();
  if( message != "" )                    //only report meaningful strings
  {
    Serial.println(message);
    send_message(message);
  }
}

/*********************************************************************************************************
* This function checks for the "start of text" ascii char <2> and then reads in each char to a string.
* The function breaks out of reading into the string if the "end of text" char <3> is read or the maximum buffer size is reached