Manipulating 0-5V Pressure Regulator via PWM

Hey! I'm working on a project involving this pressure regulator and a MEGA 2560. I'm fairly new to both electronics and Arduino and am looking for some advice regarding PWM. Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe that it is possible to control the regulator by giving it a reference voltage in the range of 0-5. I used a simple test sketch similar to the arduino blinking LED tutorial just to see the results and nothing happened. Basically, I have a couple questions I can't seem to find clear answers for. How can I change the value that the analogueWrite function outputs? Will I need to purchase some sort of DAC or MOSFET to amplify my output? Because I'm reading that my Arduino is only capable of 3.3V out.

Thanks!

EDIT: I should clarify that the reason I want to output a voltage in a range is due to the fact that the amount of pressure can be controlled by the value passed to the regulator.

Well... That datasheet is confusing!

I'm pretty sure it doesn't use PWM.

From what I can tell, there is an analog output (on some models?). If you are getting 0-5V you can read that on an Arduino analog input, scaled 0-1023, which you can then scale to pressure.

Then, you can switch the valve on/off from an Arduino digital output. I didn't see the 5V current requirement, but since it's "electronic" it probably just needs a low-current 5V signal so you shouldn't need a MOSFET or anything.

So, you can test those two functions separately. See if you can read "something" proportional to pressure with analogRead(), and see if you can turn the valve on & off with digital(Write).

Then, it's a matter of converting the analog reading to pressure (the map() function should work), and writing an if-statement (or two) to open/close the valve when you are above or below the target pressure.