HDMI not working with specific LCD

Hi,

I'm trying to get an LCD working using the HDMI port but get no image using the VidorDrawLogo example.

When I connect the Vidor to a monitor everything works fine and the logo is displayed.

When I connect the LCD to my notebook it also works fine so there is no issue with the LCD.

Just the LCD with the Vidor is not working. Can anybody help me with troubleshooting this?

After reading this thread HDMI - MKRVIDOR4000 - Arduino Forum I tried doubletapping the reset button, disconnecting and reconnecting the HDMI cable and powered the Vidor and the LCD with an external power source, but nothing helped.

I'm new to Arduino so take it easy on me.

Keola

Hi Keola,
Vidor outputs 640x480@60Hz and it is possible your LCD does not support this resolution. if your laptop OS supports it try setting its output resolution to 640x480 so that you can doublecheck the monitor is working at that resolution.
thanks,

Dario

Hi Dario,

when I connect the LCD to the Notebook it does not let me change the resolution. The LCD resolution is 800 x 800.

Is this a dead end?

Keola

Keola:
The LCD resolution is 800 x 800.

What a strange resolution. Is it a square lcd?

Do you have the model name or a link where you bought it?

Hi Keola,
i agree with Riccardo. likely your panel is only able to display that single resolution and is forcing PC to output it. at the moment Vidor does not check EDID (the memory which contains panel info) so it outputs a fixed resolution which by standard shall be supported by every display. apparently this is not the case for your panel... maybe you want to try with a different one?

Hi,

it is this one https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Raspberry-pi-3-model-b-HDMI_60779627341.html?spm=a2700.7724857.normalList.21.c36d221facIpph

Actually the pictures show the display, but the description is for the hdmi to mipi board which I am using to connect the display to the Vidor.