Arduino controlled chemistry lab build log (or building a smart hood)

Hopefully this is the proper forum to post a log.

I am beginning work on automating my chemistry experiments. I am an amateur chemist majoring in biology and minoring in chemistry. I have a home lab that I have been building, and I find that it takes a lot of my time and attention to run even simple procedures. I feel like a lot of the processes can be automated, and as data is collected, processes can be improved to the point that minimal human interaction would be necessary. In an ideal world, reaction automation files could be shared with others with similar systems to help run first time reactions efficiently.

The goals of the project fall into a number of categories:

• Reaction temperature control, monitoring, logging, and optimization from the data.

• Reagent addition including gas flow control for gas additions, liquid addition, and powder addition.

• Distillation temperature control and drip monitoring for completion

• Controlling my hood fan, monitoring the efficiency of the hood. Also, setting reminders to replace the hood filter (which gets forgotten unless reminded).

• Controlling and monitoring my refrigerated cooling system

• Controlling my vacuum pump

• Alarms for events that fall outside of set parameters, including fire or runaway reactions, gas evolution, equipment failures, etc.

• Melting point apparatus control. Set it and forget it, with a camera that records the melting point range for viewing later.

• Automated dry vacuum chromatography. Solvent system mixing, monitoring solvent levels, monitoring each elution, and automatically changing the collection vessel once the a solvent mix has finished passing through the column.