Serial port RS-232

Hi all,

I'm new at arduino and I would like to retrieve the data that is sent after pressing a button in a program on my pc.
The program sends a signal through RS-232 serial port to another controller.
Then the other controller sends a response to the pc.
I'm not interested in the response only in the signal that is sent.

What i've tried is connecting the transmit pin (from the serial port pin n°3) to the arduino A0 pin and print the signal that is sent.
I get a bunch of numbers but when i try to rewrite it to A1 (and A1 is connected to the otherside of the cut transmit wire) the program says that the communication is interrupted.

So the connection of the serial is completly the same only the transmit wire is cut and arduino is put in the middle.

What I would like to accomplish is making a universal system for getting data from al of the different controller manufactures.

Can anybody help me?

Kind regards,

William

You need to connect to the Arduino Rx pin instead, then monitor the signal using the Serial library:

byte incomingByte;
void setup(){
Serial.begin(speed); // 9600? 115200?
}
void loop(){
  if Serial.available()>0){
  incomingByte = Serial.read();
  Serial.print( incomingByte ); // maybe Serial.write( incomingByte ); ??
  }
}

CrossRoads:
You need to connect to the Arduino Rx pin instead, then monitor the signal using the Serial library:

byte incomingByte;

void setup(){
Serial.begin(speed); // 9600? 115200?
}
void loop(){
  if Serial.available()>0){
  incomingByte = Serial.read();
  Serial.print( incomingByte ); // maybe Serial.write( incomingByte ); ??
  }
}

Awesome Thank you very much for the quick response!!!
Going to try it.
I'll keep you posted.

Kind regards,

William

Are you really using the old fashioned "serial port" on a PC?