How to track a fork truck?

Hi, I am a complete Newbie here.

I have been asked by my company owner to figure out when or if our fork trucks are being utilized. We do not own the fork trucks so I cannot open any covers or attach to any electrical components. We brain-stormed some ideas and he is a big tinker guy, think Christmas lights, he wants me to put an Arduino device on the trucks and figure out when they are moving.

I was thinking of using an Arduino Uno WIFI Rev2 board with a Grove - 6-Axis Accelerometer & Gyroscope. Is this the best way to go about this request? I just need to know that they are moving and for how long. Seems pretty simple but again I am a complete Newbie.

Thanks in advance folks!

Is this the best way to go about this request?

If all you want to know is whether the truck is moving, sure. Useless for knowing exactly where it is.

A web cam seems a lot simpler to me. No code to write.

Are you sure the forklift doesn’t already have a hour meter?

That should pretty much tell you the “If” part.

The Spot Trace would tell you when and where a truck is at all times, and when it moves, unless it is in a building where GPS and satellite communications don't work.

When a forklift is in use there are constant direction changes and turns - and bumps. That should be enough to trigger a simple *tilt switch *and generate some logging.

p.s. For the same reason a tilt switch works whatever you come up with had better be extremely rugged.

This came up a couple days ago too. https://www.pozyx.io/

PaulS:
A web cam seems a lot simpler to me. No code to write.

I had not thought of a web cam. Thank you

@Slumpert - Yes but some of them are not functioning properly unfortunately.

@jremington - No these are all inside a metal structure.

@dougP - Thank you, I'll look into that.

@ChrisTenone - I actually found that page also. I'll see what I can figure out. Thanks!

Update: