PID parameters for self-balancing motorcycle

I would like to hear about the experiences of some other members regarding tuning the PID controller of the motorcycle. I have had very little success after several weeks of attempts to get the motorcycle to stay upright for more than 20 seconds. I have the 6V motor, if that is significant. I have been "playing" with the parameters Kp, Kd, gain, and bias. The inertia wheel will never do more than one "zero crossing" before falling.
Even when it is temporarily upright the slightest puff of wind will send it into instability from which it cannot recover. There is one video on You Tube which shows the motorcycle in stable motion but he/she does not respond to my enquiries. I have had some experience in writing/tuning PIDs in the context of straight line travel of wheeled robots so I am not totally naive. (I wish the inertia wheel was a laterally directed propellor)
My most successful parameter values are Kp = 80, Kd = 10, gain = 0.1, bias = 0.87
Am I the only one having this problem?

1 Like

From my initial testing the bike has a number of problem making it not so stable. You can achieve some stability but it's not very robust.
First the motor max torque is low compared to the vehicule it should keep upright so it will easily saturate the controler.
Second it has to be very well balanced or "biased" or the wheel will quickly pick up speed and stop generating torque.

A motor with a bigger Torque constant would help, also a the algorithm should include dynamic bias to compensate for equilibrum offset and also speed compensation to to alleviate back EMF effect.
It would be more robust this way.

Hi Ajaj,
Thanks for responding. Your comments mirror my thoughts exactly. Without dynamic bias adjustment gravity will win every time because it is relentless while the supply of (counter-torque x time) that can be supplied by the inertial wheel is very limited.