FFT algorithm for beat detection?

Hey Guys,

So i've been playing around with everyone favorite topic: beat detection.

My goal is to detect when the "beat" hits (which seems to be a hard concept to define), and use that to kick of some bit of code (flash some lights, iterate on a loop, that sort of bit).

My first attempt was something similar to this (i think it's "amplitude based detection" or something like that, im no sound engineer):

It worked ok sometimes, but was generally unreliable (doesn't catch all the beats or hits too often).

Now im fiddling around with FFT analysis, which some quick reading suggests might give me accurate results (someone please correct me if im wrong here). I used the FFT lib for arduino here:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,37751.0.html

I got it all hooked up, and i can print to console a nice set of data. Now the fun part; reverse engineering the whole FFT bit and getting an algorithm to detect the beat.

Looking at the code, it seems that it will slice up a amp of the music, from 150 to 9615 Hz, into 64 item array which i get to play with.

I am hoping someone can point me at a good algorithm (or hopefully library) that can help me analyze this data for the elusive beat. My rough idea is to keep track of an average of the lower frequencies (this little guy is going to the club) to see when they spike, and use that as my indicator, though i think in principle thats just a software implementation of a low pass filter (which im cool with, im a CS guy, and the hardware version of that was scaring me).

Does anyone have any awesome sage insight into this? or at the very least, am i right in my understand of whats going on so far?

I did a lot with FFT in past but beat detection is something new to me :slight_smile: Do you mean this?
http://www.clear.rice.edu/elec301/Projects01/beat_sync/beatalgo.html