Fresh install on Mac, can't install boards

Hi I'm brand new to Arduino, never installed before and trying to install some boards so I can play with the Adiafruit Playground express.

Here's what I've done:

1. Download the Arduino IDE
  2. Put in the app folder on OSX 10.4.1
  3. Go to boards manager
  4. I get the following error in the console:

https://downloads.arduino.cc/packages/package_index.json file signature verification failed. File ignored

Googling didn't not help. Everyone suggested deleting the preferences file, but it was a fresh install! I did try that of course, but no difference. I then tried the beta IDE 1.9.0 same problem.

Any ideas? Not a good experience so far :confused:

Note I can access the file https://downloads.arduino.cc/packages/package_index.json happily in my browser, so it's downloading it fine.

Try this:

• In the Arduino IDE, click the link on the line following File > Preferences > More preferences can be edited directly in the file. This will open the Arduino15 (or similar name depending on OS) folder.
  • Delete all files and folders under the Arduino15 folder except for preferences.txt. Please be very careful when deleting things from your computer. When in doubt, back up!
  • Restart the Arduino IDE

After that, try your Boards Manager installation again.

pert:
Try this:

• In the Arduino IDE, click the link on the line following File > Preferences > More preferences can be edited directly in the file. This will open the Arduino15 (or similar name depending on OS) folder.
  • Delete all files and folders under the Arduino15 folder except for preferences.txt. Please be very careful when deleting things from your computer. When in doubt, back up!
  • Restart the Arduino IDE

After that, try your Boards Manager installation again.