RC ESC Power Up problem

I've got an RC car that I modified for autonomous control. I've got the PWM control working fine but the method is a bit goofy. Here is the way it works:
When I turn on the main power (7.2V) it sends power through the Duemalinove input jack and to the ESC. Everything works if I: 1) I need to turn on a the ESC power switch after I turn on the main power or 2) I unplug the power to the ESC then plug it back in. If I don't do one of these things the motor won't run.

I am guessing that there is a current surge or some other power up problem when turning on the main power that the ESC doesn't like. I can push the arduino reset button and it all works just fine.

Would a capacitor inline help? If so, any guesses as to what size?
I suppose a relay could be used if I integrated it into the arduino.

Suggestions?

I'm no expert on ESC's out of there normal RC enviroment, but have been flying RC helis and planes for several years. Depending on the brand of ESC, some need to be turned on BEFORE the signal transmitting device is switched on, and others need to be turned on AFTER the transmitting device is switched on. Do you get surges to the motor, or just the servos?

It is not uncommon for the servos to twitch when an ESC is first turned on. The motor itself should never engage at all until the ESC has been turned on and has received the required initialization signals. This is a safety feature built into most if not all aircraft ESC's, not sure about car ESC's though. Pushing the Arduino reset tells me that the ESC is one that needs to be turned on BEFORE the Arduino. I have to electric helis that are like that.

Hope this helps a little!