Arduino Language Reference

Hi,

I am new to Arduino, however, I am not new to software and hardware development.

My customer needed a quick timing circuit and I used an Arduino. Since I was using a Arduino for the first time, I needed to learn the language details or differences. All the information is on-line which may be nice for some, but was a problem for me. I needed a printed manual but could not find one. So, I made one from the on-line information.

It is attached as a PDF, if anyone else needs it printed. It is formatted for US Letter (8.5 x 11) size.

Feel free to post it on the Arduino web if you like.

Regards,
Paul

Arduino Language Reference.pdf (538 KB)

1 Like

Thanks for sharing.

I have only skimmed through the first 10 pages or so (after the index) and it looks to be clearly written and very useful.

I will bookmark it so I can refer it to others.

...R

It looks very good. Excellent presentation. I hope I may be allowed to pick a few small issues with it? I have been asked to link to it from our "useful material" page, and thus want to make sure there aren't any major errors (so far I haven't found any).

Page 7

The C understood by the Arduino compiler is not standard C; rather, it is a robust subset of standard C. A few standard C features are missing, but, the absence of those features is not crippling by any means.

The default language used by the IDE is C++. You can include C modules, but it is actually C++ in the main "xxx.ino" file. C and C++ are not totally interchangeable. I think it is a bit misleading to call it a subset. Some things are disabled by compiler command-line options (such as exceptions) but you can disable those on your PC as well.

I prefer to get away from the notion that there is an "Arduino language" because then beginners post code that couldn't possibly work in ordinary C++ and ask "how do you do this in Arduino?". The answer usually is "same as in C++".

Page 8

if (x > 120){ digitalWrite(LEDpin, HIGH); }