[sorted] Tesla member but never used a MOSFET: clarity please?

Last visit to my preferred supplier I picked up a couple of IRL520N logic level mosfets. I've never used a mosfet before.

If I want to use one connected to an Arduino digital output does it need a current limiting resistor on the base oops I mean gate?

Hi,
JimboZA, I usually use a 470R, no matter what the design along with 10K gate to source.

http://irf.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/215

Tom...... :slight_smile:

I have used them without. But it's a not a good idea. There is a brief surge of current when the MOSFET is switched which may damage the pin. Anything to keep the current below 20mA will work.

Grumpy_Mike occasionally publishes a simple current-limiting circuit for LEDs (two transistors + resistor). That circuit works great with a MOSFET (plus transistor and resistor). I highly recommend it as a first circuit.

TomGeorge:
JimboZA, I usually use a 470R, no matter what the design along with 10K gate to source.

Actually, it should not be a 10k gate to source, but Arduino output to ground. You do not want a potential divider - however minor - between the Arduino and the FET.

The difference between reply 1 and reply 3 being on which side of the gate resistor the resistor to source / ground goes?

Would one of you guys mind doing a quick sketch when you have a moment?

Hi,
At your service.

Tom..... :slight_smile:

Thanks Tom... so @Paul, you would prefer the vertical resistor (Tom's G-S one) to be on the left of the current limiter?

Tom's pic:

JimboZA:
Last visit to my preferred supplier I picked up a couple of IRL520N logic level mosfets. I've never used a mosfet before.

If I want to use one connected to an Arduino digital output does it need a current limiting resistor on the base oops I mean gate?

Its not an easy question to answer definitively. The Arduino outputs are rated at an
absoute max of 40mA, yet will be designed to handle a certain amount of capacitive load