Converting TEMT6000 value to lux

My apology as I'm a newbie in arduino.

Can anyone please advice me how do I convert the
output of TEMT6000 into lux?

I followed the code in bildr.org guide
http://bildr.org/2011/06/temt6000_arduino/

and the output value is from 0 - 1023.

I would like to convert the readings to LUX. How do I do it?

Please advice.

In the datasheet you will find a chart that shows the relationship between lux and collector current. From that chart you can calculate the formula. Then you just need to convert the voltage measured to a current measurement.

The series resistor is 10,000 Ohms so the current should be voltage / 10000.

The voltage is: analogRead() * 5.0 / 1024.0

johnwasser:
In the datasheet you will find a chart that shows the relationship between lux and collector current. From that chart you can calculate the formula. Then you just need to convert the voltage measured to a current measurement.

The series resistor is 10,000 Ohms so the current should be voltage / 10000.

The voltage is: analogRead() * 5.0 / 1024.0

Thank you for your advice. Based on the chart I find out that the formula is y = 1/2(x) + 0. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

cklim85:
Thank you for your advice. Based on the chart I find out that the formula is y = 1/2(x) + 0. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I agree. So lux = 2 * microamps.

float volts = analogRead() * 5.0 / 1024.0;
float amps = volts / 10000.0;  // across 10,000 Ohms
float microamps = amps * 1000000;
float lux = microamps * 2.0;

Or to mash it all together:

float lux = analogRead() * 0.9765625;  // 1000/1024

This should give you a value between 0 and 1000 lux.

Thank you for all your advices. Really appreciate it very much.