Arduino PID Library

Sadly, this is my first post on this forum, and as such, I am not allowed to post http links. I'll remove the base tags and leave the Playgound strings. hopefully you can can find your way there. Sorry for the inconvenience.

I have just added my first ever contribution to the Arduino Playground. An Arduino PID Library: /playground/Code/PIDLibrary

The Barebones PID (/playground/Main/BarebonesPIDForEspresso) has been around for awhile, but I think this is a significant improvement. My goal was to make a pid that was identical to those found in industry, with all the bells and whistles.

I have it listed as a Beta, and I'm open to any suggestions you may have. Let me know what you think!

EDIT: I forgot to add an important piece of information. I'm a controls engineer specializing in pid control. I do this for a living and I figured I'd share the wealth.

UPDATE: 2011-04-15 Library is out of beta (finally)

1 Like

maybe I can post the links in a reply:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/PIDLibrary
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/BarebonesPIDForEspresso

Thanks for the contribution!

This looks like a robust and comprehensive treatment of the PID controller. I was looking for something like that ;).

Haven't tested it, but it looks good.

A couple of comments -

The description of SetCalcFrequency() indicates the parameter is actually a period, not a frequency. If this is the case then the function would be better named SetCalcPeriod().

The description of Reset() is overly brief. Perhaps it is due to my unfamiliarity with PID controllers, but does this function only reset the current calculated values of measured error and any accumulated integration value? Is the value of Output affected? What about the IOLimits and Tuning parameters?